Poetrics

This Loving Silence

It started out as a random post on my Twitter account, but after a friend suggested I make a song, I thought, “Why not?” Not that I have any talent in actually composing a tune or something; but as I set myself to complete it, I found myself confronting my own darkness.  This is what I finished on the 1st of March, 2016. (See below)

I already gave a copy to that friend, and I don’t know if they will turn it into a song or not. But I do hope that this will help you also find His light. May your hearts and your souls be refreshed during this Lenten Season!

* * *

In the raging tempest of my unrelenting thoughts
In the dissonant echoes of my pains
Let Your loving silence, oh God
Be the gentle music that I need

In the noise and chaos of my every day
In the wild rhythms of my doubtful heart
Let Your loving silence, oh God
Be the peaceful music that I need

For when I’m out of words
And when I’m out of tune
And my cries are drowned
In the crashing waves of today
Lord, let me hear this sweet silence
When I’m in Your warm embrace
Your heartbeat dancing
As my tears reflect the smile on Your face

In the mad voices of my tomorrow’s worries
In the loud protests of my unawakened dreams
Let Your loving silence, oh God
Be the soothing music that I need

For when I’m out of words
And when I’m out of tune
And my cries are drowned
In the crashing waves of today
Lord, let me hear this sweet silence
When I’m in Your warm embrace
Your heartbeat dancing
As my tears reflect the smile on Your face

And until that day
When I listen in the rain and find You whispering
Your voice promising that You’ve come
That You’re here
Amidst the stillness and the dark
Where I feel empty
And lonely
And unworthy
Yet You quietly carried me home…

For I am out of words
And I am out of tune
For my cries have drowned
In the crashing waves of today
But Lord, I can hear the sweet silence
Here in Your warm embrace
Your heartbeat dancing
As my tears reflect the smile on Your face

Lord, I am out of words
Maybe I’m out of tune
For my cries have drowned
In the crashing waves of today
Yes, Lord— I can hear the sweet silence
Here in Your warm embrace
Your heartbeat dancing
As my tears reflect the smile on Your face

Yes, Lord— there is this sweet silence
Here in Your warm embrace
Your heartbeat dancing
As my tears reflect the smile on Your face

#

Standard

Leave a Reply

